Hello, Guest!
Michael Kratsios US CTO

OSTP, DOE Appoint 21 Members to National Quantum Initiative Advisory Committee; Michael Kratsios Quoted

The Office of Science and Technology Policy and the Department of Energy has appointed 21 members of the National Quantum Initiative Advisory Committee (NQIAC), following President Trump's executive order that established the committee in August 2019.

“The White House is proud to join DOE to announce the members of the NQIAC, an important step forward for the National Quantum Initiative. We look forward to engaging with the entire U.S. innovation ecosystem to advance quantum research and innovation for the betterment of our Nation,” said Michael Kratsios, U.S. chief technology officer and 2020 Wash100 Award recipient.

NQIAC is composed of professionals from industry, academia, national laboratories and federal agencies who will counsel the White House on approaches to drive quantum information science projects.

Charles Tahan, director of the National Quantum Coordination Office, will co-chair NQIAC with Kathryn Ann Moler, dean of research at Stanford University. 

The committee was established by executive order in connection with the National Quantum Initiative Act of 2018, which also directed the government to spend more than $1.2 billion over five years to advance QIS technology. 

“By organizing a way to harness our rapidly evolving quantum technologies, this committee will help transform and evolve applications for the future,” said Paul Dabbar, undersecretary for science at DOE.

In addition, OSTP and DoE have announced up to $625 million over five years to establish five quantum research centers that deliver on the National Quantum Initiative Act’s call to stand up new QIS centers nationwide. The energy department also published the blueprint strategy for developing a national quantum internet to enhance national communications.

Video of the Day