Brandi Smith Named Columbia-Class Submarine Program Director at HII Newport News Shipbuilding

Jeff Brody
Brandi Smith

Brandi Smith, an 18-year executive at Huntington Ingalls Industries’ (NYSE: HII) Newport News Shipbuilding division, has been appointed program director of the Columbia-class submarine program at the division.

She will report to Jason Ward, vice president for Columbia-class submarine construction at Newport News Shipbuilding, and oversee construction work on the U.S. Navy’s new ballistic-missile submarines and maintain relationships with the service branch and General Dynamics’ (NYSE: GD) Electric Boat subsidiary, HII said Tuesday.

Smith most recently served as director of quality control with oversight of all non-nuclear, nuclear and non-destructive testing inspectors.

She joined Newport News in 2002 as an engineer in the carrier overhaul program. She previously served as acting director of construction engineering for the Ford-class aircraft carrier and engineering lead for Integrated Digital Shipbuilding.

You may also be interested in...

Defense Digital Acquisition and Modernization Forum

Expert Panel to Discuss DoD Strategies at GovConWire’s Defense Digital Acquisition and Modernization Forum

GovConWire’s Defense Digital Acquisition and Modernization Forum on Dec. 1 will feature an expert panel, composed of federal and industry leaders across the government contracting sector. The panel will address the DoD’s Software Acquisition Strategy, Defense Acquisition Workforce Development and the future of data and information technology modernization across agencies. To register for the Defense Digital Acquisition and Modernization Forum, as well as view upcoming opportunities, visit GovConWire’s Event Page.

The White House

Jake Sullivan Appointed National Security Adviser Under Biden Administration

Jake Sullivan, formerly deputy assistant to the president under the Barack Obama administration, has received appointment as national security adviser to President-elect Joe Biden. Sullivan is among the six key members of the incoming administration's foreign policy and national security team unveiled Monday.