Hello, Guest!

DHS Names 10 Radio Interoperability Advisory Panel Members; Reginald Brothers Comments

ManpackRadioThe Department of Homeland Security’s science and technology directorate has appointed 10 members to a new advisory committee that will work to develop standards to ensure interoperability among digital two-way radio communications tools that first responders use during emergencies.

DHS said Wednesday the advisory panel for the Project 25 Compliance Assessment Program will assess proposed compliance review bulletins and craft test documents for new types of P25 CAP-compliant communications tools.

P25 CAP aims to help land mobile radio manufacturers and suppliers demonstrate to emergency response agencies that their products comply with the P25 standard for interoperable digital wireless communications tools.

“To successfully respond to day-to-day incidents and large-scale emergencies, first responders must be able to communicate with each other regardless of the make or model of their equipment, ” said Reginald Brothers, undersecretary for science and technology at DHS.

The members of the advisory panel are:

  • Arnold Hooper – State of Tennessee
  • Chris Kindelspire – State of Illinois
  • Dan Robinson – State of Michigan
  • Gerald Reardon – Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  • John Evanoff – Federal Communications Commission
  • Joseph Heaps – National Institute of Justice
  • Marty McCoy – State of Wyoming
  • Mike Kionka – State of Colorado
  • Morton Leifer – State of New York
  • Roger Strope – State of Missouri


Video of the Day

Related Articles