Industry Execs Among Nominated Advisers to National Space Council

Twenty-eight representatives from the government, private and academic sectors have been appointed to serve for a term of up to two years on the user’s advisory group of the National Space Council.

Vice President Mike Pence, who serves as the NSC chairman, said in a statement posted Friday on SpaceRef  that the advisers will support the White House in efforts to increase collaboration, data sharing and innovation in the space domain.

NSC UAG members from industry include Tory Bruno, CEO of United Launch Alliance and former Wash100 inductee; David Calhoun, president and CEO of Boeing (NYSE: BA); Eileen Drake, president and CEO of Aerojet Rocketdyne; Gwynne Shotwell, president and chief operating officer of SpaceX; and Kathy Warden, chairman, CEO and president of Northrop Grumman (NYSE: NOC) and 2020 Wash100 Award recipient.

SpaceNews reported that Marillyn Hewson, outgoing CEO of Lockheed Martin (NYSE: LMT) and a 2020 Wash100 winner, was among the original UAG members who did not return for another term on the panel.

Click here to view the updated membership roster.

The advisory group, led by retired Navy Adm. James Ellis, has formed six subcommittees and hosted four public meetings since its inception in 2018.

Check Also


SAIC Awarded TSA Test & Evaluation Support BPA

Science Applications International Corp. (NYSE: SAIC) has been awarded a potential $40M blanket purchase agreement for operational test and evaluation services to the Transportation Security Administration, according to an award notice posted Thursday.

US Air Force

Air Force Selects Boeing, Lockheed, Raytheon Technologies for Hypersonic Cruise Missile Tech Design Program

The U.S. Air Force has indicated its intent to solicit design proposals from Boeing (NYSE: BA), Lockheed Martin (NYSE: LMT) and Raytheon Technologies (NYSE: RTX) for a hypersonic cruise missile technology that can be launched from a fighter or a bomber aircraft.