Kelly Ortberg to Succeed Clay Jones as Rockwell Collins CEO

Kelly Ortberg
Kelly Ortberg

Kelly Ortberg, president of Rockwell Collins (NYSE: COL), has been appointed to succeed Clay Jones as chief executive, effective July 31.

Jones has told the board of directors he plans to retire as CEO on that date but will continue to serve as non-executive chairman of the board, Rockwell Collins said Friday.

“This decision was made as part of a carefully orchestrated succession planning process that has been implemented over the past several years, ” Jones said.

Ortberg, a 26-year company veteran, assumed his current role in September 2012 after previously serving as executive vice president and chief operating officer of the government systems business.

Clay Jones
Clay Jones

The company said he helped lead major avionics business wins for programs such as the KC-46A, KC-10 and the Embraer KC-390.

He also has served as EVP and COO of the commercial systems business, where he led development programs for the Boeing 787, Airbus A350 and Bombardier C-Series.

During Jones’ 12-year tenure as CEO, the company says annual revenue grew from $2.5 billion to nearly $5 billion and total shareholder value increased by more than 200 percent.

He became president of the company in January 1999 and elevated to CEO two years later after leading Rockwell Collins through its initial public offering.

Jones served as in the U.S. Air Force as a fighter pilot before joining Rockwell International in 1979.


Check Also

Vectrus Wins Potential $210M Navy IDIQ for Air Base Operations Support

Vectrus (NYSE: VEC) has won a potential eight-year, $210M contract from the U.S. Navy to provide operations support for Isa Air Base in Bahrain and the installation's outlying support facilities.

Douglas Helton

Douglas Helton Joins Noblis as Transportation Systems Business Dev’t Lead; Mile Corrigan Quoted

Douglas Helton, a nearly 36-year veteran of the aviation industry, has joined Noblis' federal civilian solutions mission area as business development director for transportation systems.